Bakeworks: Gluten-Free Glossary

Gluten Free Products NZ
This gluten-free glossary has a number of words that are likely to pop up along your gluten-free journey – whether that be eating, cooking or purchasing gluten-free products.

Activated Seeds – seeds that have been soaked to initiate the germination or sprouting process. Allows us to ensure an ethical and top-quality product is created at all stages of production.

Amaranth – a seed that is known to be an exceptional source of nutrition and protein. It is full of antioxidants, iron, calcium, fibre and a whole range of healthy elements. Used

Barley - one of grains that possess gluten. Mostly used in brewing, but can also be found in soup, stews and soups.

Bulgur – a form of whole wheat that undergoes reprocessing and resizing. Contains gluten.

Celiac Disease - the autoimmune disorder that affects 1 in 100 people, causing a toxic reaction to gluten.

Cereal – encompasses any edible seed from the grass family. Although many cereals are safe, caution should be taken due to specific ingredient use and contamination possibility.

Chicken Broth – Commonly used to prepare a variety of dishes, particularly soup and rice meals. In regard to content of gluten – this varies from brand to brand. Read labels with care to ensure you purchase trusting brands that are fully gluten-free.

Cross-Contamination - when there is unwilling exposure of a certain product with another one, in this case, gluten. Cross-contamination must be considered with regards to cooking oils, production methods and any other process where direct caution is not specifically stated.

Durum – mainly used in pasta, durum has high gluten content. Also known as emmer.

Flaxseed – as the richest vegetable source of Omega-3, flaxseed is has positive effects in combatting heart disease and cancer. This is a commonly integrated into gluten-free diets.

Flour - one of the most common places wherein gluten is found, however, not all flour has gluten.

Examples of Gluten-Free flours are:

Arrowroot Flour - created from the roots of a tropical tuber, it is often used in sauces, puddings and baking. Available at most supermarkets

Buckwheat Flour - from the herb family, buckwheat seeds are ground into a flour that’s typically used in pancakes

Coconut Flour - a soft flour, it is rich in protein, fibre and fat. It has only been popularised relatively recently and can be purchased at most health food stores

Cornmeal - with a range of varying textures, cornmeal is a flour that is used for a number of different dishes

Fava Bean Flour - a fine flour often used for gluten-free cooking and baking.

Millet Flour - a gluten-free flour, that is a high source of protein, amino acids and fibre.

Potato Flour – although most commonly used for thickening, this flour is also used in baking

Rice Flour – this is one of the most used replacements of wheat flour, used for things such as noodles and pancakes

Sorghum Flour - a great gluten-free flour alternative that has been used for thousands of years, it is a great source of fibre

Sweet Rice Flour - ground from glutinous rice (sticky rice)

Tapioca Flour - a variety of uses in baking, this gluten-free flour is made from the starch extracted from the cassava plant.

Fu – popular in Asian countries, Fu is a dried form of gluten typically made from wheat.

Gelatin – a common ingredient in gluten-free cooking, it assists in reducing crumbling when baking.

Gluten - the name of the proteins in certain grains. It is poorly digested and affects day-to-day processes in all populations, but is particularly harmful to people with Celiac Disease and other related disorders. Found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale.

Gluten Peptieds – smaller units of proteins from barley, rye, wheat and oats.

Glutenin – Found in the gluten of wheat

Guar Gum (a.k.a. guaran) - ground from guar beans and is used to thicken, bind or improve the texture of a range of gluten-free food products

Modified Starch – certain types can be a wheat product and so should certain products should be handled with caution – often written on labels.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity – a condition where individuals face symptoms similar to those associated with celiac. Sometimes also referred to as ‘gluten sensitivity’.

Nuts – should be handled with caution as processing agents may often use wheat when roasted. Tree nuts and peanuts, however do not contain gluten in their natural state.

Noodles – often made from wheat with high levels of gluten, although there certainly a number of gluten-free options.

Oats - in their natural form, oats don’t contain gluten, however it is exposure to wheats is likely during production. A number of  gluten-free individuals tend to react negatively to oats and so cautionary action should be taken.

Quinoa – a seed commonly grown in South America, quinoa has a number of great minerals and vitamins. Usually gluten-free, however may risk cross-contamination with certain providers.

Rye – another gluten grain that is mostly used for making bread and whiskey.

Skim Milk Powder – a popular ingredient for gluten-free diets, skim milk powder helps bread rise and stay moist, while also providing calcium and protein.

Starch – a substance contained in many foods and usually with gluten, although some gluten-free modified alternate options are available.

The most common gluten-free options are:

Tapioca Starch -  derived from the cassava plant starch (tapioca flour is taken from the root). 

Potato Starch – often used as a thickener and made from raw potatoes.

Sprouting – the process we undergo in creating our gluten-free products, right from the seed! Read more here.

Triticale – a hybrid of rye and wheat, triticale contains high levels of gluten and so must be avoided in a gluten-free diet.

Wheat – the most common of the gluten grains and the second highest produced food worldwide, wheat can be found in a number of different products. While bread, pasta, cake and cookies are the most obvious products to use wheat, it can also be found in noodles, ice-cream, canned-soups, candy and even playdough.

Xanthan gum – produced by fermenting a particular strain of bacteria and processing it. Used in products like ice-cream to provide a smoother feeling in the mouth.

Yeast – yeast is frequently used in both baking and brewing. The distinction between gluten-free ones and others can be difficult to determine. Typically yeast is gluten-free, except for brewer’s yeast. Handle such foods with caution and use brands you trust.

With a greater understanding of the key terms to do with a Gluten-Free lifestyle, why not give it a go? Check out our selection of tasty alternatives to traditionally gluten-based products!   

 

Gluten Free Product and glossary